Sunday, December 27, 2009

Proposal: Church and State

Timed out 10 votes FOR to 4 AGA. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 29 Dec 2009 15:15:37 UTC

Enact a new subrule of Rule 2.6, called “Places of Interest”:-

If a Location is in the “Legislative buildings” category of the Reference Source, or any subcategory of that category, it is considered a Legislative Building. If an Adventurer’s Location is a Legislative Building and their Power is less than 3, they may - as a weekly action - gain 3 Power.

If a Location is in the “Religious buildings” category of the Reference Source, or any subcategory of that category, it is considered a Religious Building. If an Adventurer’s Location is a Religious Building and their Corruption is higher than any other Adventurer, they may - as a weekly action - reduce their Corruption to that of an Adventurer with the second-highest Corruption.

Adding a couple of non-grindy abilities to types of location.

Comments

Ienpw III:

12-27-2009 15:20:26 UTC

against I think this was a mistake on your part, Kevan, but as it is, only the Adventurer with the highest corruption can lower it: “they may - as a weekly action - reduce their Corruption to that of an Adventurer with the second-highest Corruption.”

Kevan:

12-27-2009 15:21:46 UTC

No, that was intentional; it says “their Corruption is higher than any other Adventurer” earlier in the sentence.

Oze:

12-27-2009 15:22:52 UTC

for

tecslicer:

12-27-2009 17:55:06 UTC

for

Ienpw III:

12-27-2009 18:42:07 UTC

The way I read it, any adventurer whose corruption is not the lowest has a corruption higher than any other adventurer.

If my corruption was 5, yours was 4, Oze’s was 6, then I would have a corruption higher than “any other adventurer” (I.e. you).
Oze would have a corruption higher than every other adventurer.

spikebrennan:

12-27-2009 19:59:58 UTC

for

alethiophile:

12-27-2009 21:12:38 UTC

I agree with Ienpw, but the wording ‘reduce their Corruption to that of the second-highest’ enforces the intended meaning anyway.  for

Bucky:

12-27-2009 21:24:57 UTC

for

Darknight:

12-27-2009 23:22:38 UTC

for

Klisz:

12-27-2009 23:46:30 UTC

for

alethiophile:

12-28-2009 03:46:03 UTC

Actually, CoV.  against

The phrase ‘and their Corruption is higher than any other Adventurer’ does not refer to their Corruption being higher than any other Adventurer’s Corruption, it refers to their Corruption being higher than any other Adventurer. Given the only grammatical meaning of ‘high’ as applied to Adventurers, this rule could only be activated if the Corruption of an Adventurer who is in a Religious Building is on more drugs than any other Adventurer. :P

alethiophile:

12-28-2009 03:46:27 UTC

(Yes, yes, grammar nazi. But this game was made for grammar nazis.)

tecslicer:

12-28-2009 04:10:30 UTC

@Aleth: Or it could mean elevation. We do have a universe that can incorporate that.

alethiophile:

12-28-2009 05:50:45 UTC

It could. Either way, not the intended meaning. If this passes, then someone should submit a fix; I would now, but I want to save my proposal for possible amendments to Affairs of Wizards.

There:

12-28-2009 07:43:55 UTC

for

Qwazukee:

12-28-2009 09:19:35 UTC

against

spikebrennan:

12-28-2009 15:26:20 UTC

for

Ornithopter:

12-28-2009 19:09:42 UTC

for
Fix proposed.

NoOneImportant:

12-28-2009 21:46:26 UTC

for

90000:

12-29-2009 03:33:22 UTC

against