Friday, November 14, 2008

Story Post: Duel to First-Blood: Fight for the Crown

So, who wants to win this dynasty? :)

Comments

arthexis:

11-14-2008 18:14:30 UTC

I do! I hold no items :D

arthexis:

11-14-2008 18:15:33 UTC

Per rule “Duels”:

Any Clansman who is not already a Combatant or a Prepared Combatant in a Duel, apart from the Referee who announced it, may step forward to fight in that Duel by posting a comment to it, stating such an intention, and listing the Items they are taking to the fight.

Since I am already a combatant, but I am the referee of this duel at the same time, I may join it.

Rodney:

11-14-2008 19:14:30 UTC

This is made of pure deviousness.

Yoda:

11-14-2008 20:06:33 UTC

No, being a combatant or a prepared combatant and being a referee are two different conditions.  Just because you are both does not mean that you can join.

Purplebeard:

11-14-2008 20:14:45 UTC

I agree with Yoda. I don’t think you can join this.

I’ll join. I hold no items.

Purplebeard:

11-14-2008 20:24:14 UTC

I’ve sent in my moves. Anyone who wants me to win can join this duel and not send in any combat moves.

Purplebeard:

11-14-2008 20:31:49 UTC

I just remembered that I probably won’t have internet access this weekend, so I could never stop Yoda from winning before I do. I withdraw.

Purplebeard:

11-14-2008 20:32:29 UTC

I’ll join again. I hold no items. This time I won’t send in combat moves.

Confused yet?

arthexis:

11-14-2008 21:15:26 UTC

@Yoda: Yeah, in truth following the spirit of the rule, I am not able to join. But if you read the rule literally…

Clucky:

11-14-2008 23:43:29 UTC

I’ll join.

If I understand the ruleset correctly, by not sending in a list Purplebeard wins in 24 hours.

arthexis:

11-15-2008 04:42:47 UTC

Purplebeard or Clucky can still win if they make a quick Declaration of Victory to stall the game.