Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Proposal: Hunt the Lamp

Passes 13-1. Quorum for.—alethiophile

Adminned at 31 Dec 2009 11:21:19 UTC

Reword Rule 2.4 (Djinni in a lamp, baby) to:-

The Djinni has a Location, tracked in his “Location” GNDT field. The Djinni’s Location may be “Everywhere” (signifying that the Djinni is free), “Lamp” (signifying that the Djinn is inside the Lamp in an unknown location) or the name of a valid Location from Rule 2.6 (signifying that the Djinn is inside the Lamp and that the Lamp is at that Location).

The Djinni is unable to grant any Wishes or Boons while he is inside the Lamp.

If the Djinni is ever put inside the Lamp, his Location becomes “Lamp”; if he ever leaves the Lamp, his location becomes “Everywhere”. If the Djinni’s Location is “Lamp”, he may adjust his Location to any valid Location from Rule 2.6.

If an Adventurer has the same Location as the Djinni, and the Djinni is in the Lamp, then that Adventurer may Free the Djinni, as a daily action. Upon doing so, the Djinni leaves the Lamp, and the Adventurer gains 1 Wish, unless they were the last Adventurer to be responsible for the Djinni entering the Lamp.

Allowing the Djinni to have a Location whilst inside the Lamp. The first Adventurer to get there and rub the lamp gets the Wish.

Comments

There:

12-30-2009 17:17:10 UTC

for

spikebrennan:

12-30-2009 17:20:46 UTC

for

Ienpw III:

12-30-2009 17:27:56 UTC

for

Klisz:

12-30-2009 17:38:52 UTC

for

digibomber:

12-30-2009 18:58:43 UTC

against
Provide the Djinni with an initial location.

Right now the Djinni is not considered an Adventurer and there is no rule which allows him to set a location if he doesn’t have one. (Movement only applies to Adventurers)

Bucky:

12-30-2009 19:02:39 UTC

for
@digibomber: The proposed rule explicitly allows him to.

Kevan:

12-30-2009 19:19:23 UTC

Actually, he doesn’t have a fully explicit initial Location, I forgot to do that. But it’s just an undefined variable, I can’t see that it actually breaks anything. It’ll be set as soon as it matters, as soon as he gets put inside the Lamp.

alethiophile:

12-30-2009 21:35:26 UTC

for Best to have an explicit initial Location. Should be proposed.

alethiophile:

12-30-2009 21:42:25 UTC

testing

NoOneImportant:

12-30-2009 22:05:08 UTC

Best NOT to have an initial explicit location, as it prevents “camping”.  for

alethiophile:

12-30-2009 22:08:53 UTC

No, the initial explicit location is ‘Everywhere’, meaning the Djinni is outside the Lamp.

Oze:

12-30-2009 23:07:46 UTC

for

Nausved:

12-30-2009 23:30:02 UTC

for

Darknight:

12-31-2009 05:44:52 UTC

for

Kevan:

12-31-2009 10:00:26 UTC

The Djinni’s Location only becomes “Everywhere” when he leaves the Lamp, not when he is not inside it. So he’ll have a null Location until someone puts him in the Lamp.

ais523:

12-31-2009 11:38:06 UTC

for

Ornithopter:

12-31-2009 11:57:39 UTC

for
Fortunately, the way the proposal’s worded, the Djinni can grant wishes and boons as long as his location isn’t “lamp” or a valid Location, so as long as he’s at “-” life proceeds as normal (also holds true for Saturn, Narnia, and Troy, should he ever manage to end up in one of those places).