Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Proposal: Abomination!

Timed out 2 votes to 0 with 2 unresolved DEFs. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 23 Jun 2017 07:35:01 UTC

Add to the rule “Madness”:

An explorer with the background of cultist who is insane may make a public blog post declaring that they are HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED. The Expedition Leader may certify that this explorer is, in fact, a cultist by posting a comment containing the word “fnord”.

Add a rule named “Victory”:

If any explorer who is not HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED is the only explorer who is not insane, they have achieved victory.

If an explorer is HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED, and has had their post to that effect certified by the Expedition Leader, and all explorers are insane, that explorer has achieved victory.

 

Adding a victory condition, although not a particularly achievable one at present. EDITED: this version is a bit more streamlined.

Comments

Kevan: Oracle he/him

20-06-2017 19:52:50 UTC

If a public action is only available to a secret subgroup, the outgroup can (although it’s a bit cheap) insist that everyone take the action in the GNDT and wait for the Expedition Leader to revert illegal moves.

We could do this without the Health stat, as well - just define “Healthy” to mean “has a Sanity below 10 and has never SEEN THE TRUTH”, and “Abomination” to mean “has SEEN THE TRUTH”.

orkboi:

20-06-2017 20:02:09 UTC

That’s a good point, and probably a better way of doing this. Let me see if I can revise this a bit quickly.

Kevan: Oracle he/him

20-06-2017 20:12:39 UTC

Ah, SEEING THE TRUTH is actually already in the ruleset, it’s a Cultist background ability.

orkboi:

20-06-2017 20:18:30 UTC

This game is hard.

card:

20-06-2017 20:26:30 UTC

So the Expedition Leader certifies that person who declares they are HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED is a cultist, however that rule never makes the author of that post HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED.
Also I can’t seem to see what word the Expedition Leader is supposed to post for confirmation.

orkboi:

20-06-2017 20:58:18 UTC

I fnord think that this fnord version fixes that.

Kevan: Oracle he/him

20-06-2017 21:50:52 UTC

No, the fnord is just stating that the HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED player “is, in fact, a cultist”. It reads as if anyone can become HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED by declaring it.

HIDEOUSLY TRANSFORMED is pretty much doing the same thing as SEEING THE TRUTH, only as a public blog post instead of a private message. (And you seem to have dropped the Insanity zeroing you had in here earlier.) I don’t think you need to define it at all, it’d work just as well as “If an explorer is the only explorer who is not insane and has never SEEN THE TRUTH…”

Cuddlebeam:

21-06-2017 11:32:37 UTC

imperial shrug

Sphinx:

21-06-2017 16:10:42 UTC

Even if “declaring they are hideously transformed” does make an explorer Hideously transformed, if all explorers are insane, all cultists could become hideously transformed. Who should win, then?

orkboi:

21-06-2017 16:28:07 UTC

My understanding is that in that case a cultist could make a Declaration of Ascendance.

pokes:

22-06-2017 10:37:14 UTC

imperial

Kevan: Oracle he/him

22-06-2017 10:43:02 UTC

for