Story Post: Announcement of Attainment: A Lacuna
My Equity is 24, at least three times greater than the Float of 8.
My Equity is 24, at least three times greater than the Float of 8.
How did you Heighten Mill Kevan before posting the Announcement of Attainment?
a Nomicer may spend a Joker to reduce the Equity of another Nomicer other than the Nomicer who posted the Announcement of Attainment
There was no other Nomicer. Is your position that because the “other Nomicer” was none, any Nomicer was valid?
Eh, I shouldn’t have posted that so fast. There was no Nomicer that had posted the Announcement of Attainment. So is your position that the latter part of that clause is inapplicable but the rest is valid, rather than rendering the whole action illegal?
Right – Kevan isn’t the Nomicer who posted the Announcement of Attainment because there was no such Nomicer, so it can’t be Kevan.
Note that the action in question originally wasn’t a Lacunaic Action, so at least Josh interpreted it as being something that could be done outside Lacuna when proposing it. That doesn’t necessarily mean he’s correct, of course.
We might need an uphold/reject CFJ on this one, but I think we should wait for more people to weigh in on it before deciding in which direction the CFJ should be worded.
(Note that Milling is in a similar place at the moment – it requires you to Record “the Sin that [you] view this Nomicer as having performed”; the requirement to view the Nomicer as having performed the Sin is probably meaningless, meaning that if meaningless restrictions like not being a nonexistent person stop the action working, they should stop Milling working, too.)
Yeah, I think we forgot to mark Lacunaic Actions as only being able to be used in a state of Lacuna as well. I feel like that was the intention, but such gaps are how clever exploits are made.
You can tell because the way the Heightened Mill is worded, it has an explicit assumption that an Announcement of Attainment had already been posted before the action was taken, which is currently not a requirement. I think your action is legit in this case.
I would also agree that the Golden Rule isn’t an action. It’s simply a change to gamestate as the result of resolving a proposal. One could argue that “resolving a proposal” is an action, but that isn’t a dynastic action, it’s a core action.
Fun note: this was posted on April Fools Day, exactly as predicated in Discord chat:
Josh — 3/26/2025 1:45 PM
If I win, my dynasty will be: only one stat, called Win Equity, which is evenly split between all players. No other tracked variables allowed. At any time, any player can declare the end of the dynasty, at which point the game is rolled off based on each player’s Equitydarknight — 3/26/2025 1:46 PM
April fools dynasty 2.0 potential hehJosh — 3/26/2025 1:46 PM
It’s a good time for it. Five days of sprint scamming
ais523:
Things we probably need to work out during Lacuna:
- whether there are any mistakes in the tracker
- whether Golden Rule works during Lacuna (I think it does, because although it’s dynastic, it isn’t an action)
- anything else?