Saturday, November 09, 2013

Proposal: Delegation

Times out and passes 7-1 / Skju

Adminned at 11 Nov 2013 17:52:32 UTC

Amend the rule “Offices” to read:

Each Oligarch may hold a single Office. By default, an Oligarch holds no Office. An Oligarch’s Office is tracked in the GNDT.

The following Offices are Offices of Command and are tracked in the GNDT by the first word of their titles. An Oligarch who holds an Office of Command may be referred to as a Commander. Each Office of Command may be held by no more than one Oligarch at a time:

* Chief of Police
* Director of the Bank
* Admiral of the Navy
* Brigadier of the Air Force
* General of the Military.

The following Offices are Offices of Authority, are tracked in the GNDT by the last word of their titles, and correspond to the Offices of Command by department. Each Office of Authority may be held by no more than 1/5 of all Oligarchs, rounded down, at a time:

* Police Inspector
* Bank Associate
* Navy Captain
* Air Marshal
* Military Colonel.

A Commander may spend 2 Power to assign an Oligarch to the Office of Authority corresponding to the Commander’s Office. An Oligarch may remove themself from an Office of Authority by paying 1 Power to their Commander.

Enact a subrule of “Offices” entitled “Commanding Powers”:

As a weekly action, the Director of the Bank may increase the Power of every Loyal Oligarch by 10.

In the rule “Fight the Power”, change “assign an Oligarch to an Office not already taken”
to “assign an Oligarch to an Office of Command not already taken”.

Next up: revolutionaries.

Comments

quirck: HE/HIM

11-09-2013 21:09:49 UTC

If someone goes idle, who should be removed to satisfy the 1/5 requirement?

RaichuKFM:

11-09-2013 21:55:17 UTC

for

Josh: HE/HIM

11-09-2013 23:32:37 UTC

for

Kevan: HE/HIM

11-09-2013 23:55:49 UTC

for

turtlemoon:

11-10-2013 16:09:29 UTC

imperial

Bucky:

11-10-2013 17:15:46 UTC

against because it lets Officers of Command remove other Officers of Command from their posts.

Skju:

11-11-2013 00:27:27 UTC

How?

Kevan: HE/HIM

11-11-2013 00:54:37 UTC

“A Commander may spend 2 Power to assign an Oligarch to the Office of Authority corresponding to the Commander’s Office.” - Bucky is, I think, assuming that because we can each only have one Office, assigning is implicitly reassigning.

I’d say that using the power on an Officer of Command would just be attempting to assign a second Office to a person with one Office, which would be illegal. But clarity wouldn’t hurt.

Spitemaster:

11-11-2013 16:14:37 UTC

I’d say that trying to use that power on an Office of Command wouldn’t work - it specifically refers to Offices of Authority. for

Kevan: HE/HIM

11-11-2013 16:47:14 UTC

They are both Offices. “Each Oligarch may hold a single Office.”

If I have an Office of Command and you press a button to “assign an Oligarch to the Office of Authority”, I would (under Bucky’s interpretation) lose my Office of Command and have it replaced by an Office of Authority.

Ludwig:

11-11-2013 19:15:54 UTC

for I follow our Leader (may his word be followed!) blindly.