Thursday, July 19, 2018

Call for Judgment: duplicate robes

timed out 4-1 enacted by card

Adminned at 21 Jul 2018 18:19:05 UTC

The proposal Simultaneous Actions failed to account for what would happen if someone drew a card that in the mean time would have been returned to 9spaceking’s hand. Before that proposal enacted Corona drew Mudling Robes and later it was restored to 9spaceking’s hand via proposal. Do the following to resolve this error:
If both the Wizards 9spaceking and Corona still have the card Mudling Robes in their hand at the time of enactment, randomly choose one of them, remove Mudling Robes from that Wizard’s hand and put a random card from the deck in their hand.


Brendan: he/him

19-07-2018 18:56:26 UTC


derrick: he/him

19-07-2018 20:25:00 UTC


Kevan: City he/him

19-07-2018 21:20:35 UTC

What has this got to do with Simultaneous Actions? It’s illegal to have a card be in the Wizards’ hands, that’s all. The proposal wouldn’t have been able to move it there.

Kevan: City he/him

19-07-2018 21:22:08 UTC

Oh, the proposal of that title, misread that there.

against as it’s not possible for the card to be in two places.


20-07-2018 01:45:22 UTC

[Kevan] then it’s a question of whether Simultaneous Actions was originally enacted correctly or not. Although I didn’t notice that Corona had Mudling Robes at the time of enactment, I didn’t return it to 9spaceking’s hand by accident; you corrected my mistake but made two Wizards have the same card in their hand. One of us did the wrong action but I’m not actually sure which one was wrong, so this proposal just make the gamestate valid instead of something more complicated.


20-07-2018 09:31:36 UTC


Kevan: City he/him

20-07-2018 10:38:59 UTC

This only changes anything if “If both the Wizards 9spaceking and Corona still have the card Mudling Robes in their hand at the time of enactment”, though, which can’t ever be true.

(Afraid I’m on holiday at the moment and only checking in from my phone, so can’t cross-reference exactly what happened.)