Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Proposal: Forbidden Masks.

Self killed. Failed by card.

Adminned at 31 May 2017 16:46:11 UTC

Add a Section called “Masks”. Within it, add:

The University is using a set of three ancient masks as leads towards uncovering the mysteries in the Mountain. These masks contain forbidden, ancient power. An Explorer at Base Camp can attempt to don a Mask and have it be Attached to them, by making a Proposal for this effect. Masks can only be Attached to one Explorer at a time.

An Explorer with a Mask Attached cannot achieve Victory until its removed, as they’re cursed with invasive, self-destructive thoughts. Removing a Mask an incredibly difficult task (and Explorers can do so at-will upon themselves), and requires to be at Base Camp and paying 50 Supplies to do so. After Removing a Mask, the Mask is no longer Attached to them and returns to being at Base Camp, and can be Attached to someone else again.

The Masks and the abilities that they grant to an Explorer if they’re Attached to them are the following:

- Mask of Bravery: Perform as if you had the “Military” and “Adventurer” Backgrounds.
- Mask of Wisdom: Perform as if you had the “Scholar” and “Cultist” Backgrounds.
- Mask of Guile: Perform as if you had the “Handyman” and “Spy” Backgrounds.

Comments

card:

30-05-2017 15:41:03 UTC

I’m not sure this fits the theme, it seems more fitting of a Zelda themed Dynasty. I’m not well versed in Lovecraft though, so if it’s from one of his stories then tell me which one.

Cuddlebeam:

30-05-2017 15:44:36 UTC

Btw I loooooove Majora’s Mask.

I’m also unfamiliar with Lovecraft aside from pop culture and MTG’s Eldrazi.

I just made this because I thought it was cool to have access to other Backgrounds, but paying a price for it.

Cpt_Koen:

30-05-2017 16:10:07 UTC

:def: The rule “Backgrounds” states explicitly that an Explorer can have none or two backgrounds. The new rule “Masks” makes it somewhat ambiguous whether the two mask-induced backgrounds count in that limit (overriding the previous two) or do not count in that limit (resulting in up to four backgrounds).

Also, I think it would be possible to don several masks at once? There is a limit that a particular mask can only be Attached by one Explorer at a time, but one Explorer could have several masks Attached?

Btw, “Explorers may correct obvious spelling and typographical mistakes in the Ruleset and their own Pending Proposals at any time, including replacing Spivak and gender-specific pronouns with the singular “they”.”

until its removed

until it’s removed

Removing a Mask an incredibly difficult task

missing verb

Cpt_Koen:

30-05-2017 16:10:29 UTC

imperial

card:

30-05-2017 16:12:22 UTC

against

[Cpt_Koen] The verb in the second one is “Removing”

Kevan: he/him

30-05-2017 16:20:48 UTC

against “by making a Proposal for this effect” means that you’d get the Mask upon posting the proposal, even if it failed.

Cuddlebeam:

30-05-2017 19:05:15 UTC

against Gah

Publius Scribonius Scholasticus: he/they

30-05-2017 19:25:58 UTC

against

orkboi:

30-05-2017 20:14:49 UTC

against