Sunday, March 01, 2015

Proposal: Garbage Disposal

Self-killed. Failed by Kevan.

Adminned at 02 Mar 2015 16:29:09 UTC

After the list in the Rule “Workplaces”, add the following:-

Any Townsperson may throw out their trash by removing X non-Human, non-Plague Things from their Home (Where X is a positive integer). If they do so, they must then roll YXDICE20 and give themselves a number of Plagues equal to the number of 1s they rolled, where Y is 2 if the Townsperson is a Farmer and Y is 0 if the Townsperson is a Clerk.

We should be able to throw things away! But it might get nasty…

The explanation for the second part is Clerks are really neat but Farmers are messy.

Comments

Darknight: he/him

01-03-2015 23:19:13 UTC

imperial

mideg:

01-03-2015 23:20:33 UTC

against Since workplaces can be changed at will right now, this is not very meaningfull, I think.

Also, farmers bring in plagues like hell, every time a farmer just removes 1 thing, he has to roll 21DICE20?

That’s an awful lot of chances to cath a Plague, whatever it will someday do.

Brendan: he/him

01-03-2015 23:29:33 UTC

against

Sylphrena:

02-03-2015 02:15:50 UTC

I’m not sure whether to interpret “YX” in “YXDICE20” as concatenation (eg, farmers roll 21 dice per item) or multiplication (eg, farmers roll 2 dice per item). Also, what do Townspeople who aren’t Clerks or Farmers use for Y?

ayesdeeef:

02-03-2015 02:18:23 UTC

I was misunderstood. How would I say that the X plagues should be multiplied by two for Farmers, by zero for clerks, and by one for everybody else? Thanks.

@mideg, pretty soon Kevan’s Dole Queue should pass and Workplaces will no longer be able to be changed at will. (his concern is that regardless of what role people have, they can always shift to Clerk, throw out the trash, and then shift back to their original role)

mideg:

02-03-2015 08:14:27 UTC

@ayesdeef:

How about: “If they do so, they must then roll XDICE20 and give themselves a number of Plagues equal to the number of 1s they rolled. If the Townsperson is a Farmer, they get two times that amount of plagues. If the Townsperson is a Clerk, they do not get Plagues by this.”

Purplebeard:

02-03-2015 15:33:21 UTC

against Weird way to catch the Plague.

Kevan: Oracle he/him

02-03-2015 16:01:41 UTC

against Rats at the garbage heap, I suppose.

The GNDT doesn’t return the results of individual rolls, only the totals, so in most cases we won’t be able to establish “the number of 1s they rolled”.

Josh: he/him

02-03-2015 16:04:57 UTC

Like the plague theme, worried about this implementation.  against

ayesdeeef:

02-03-2015 16:08:39 UTC

@Kevan, good catch. Same answer I gave Sylphrena: I’ll fix it in the repropose.

Sounds like fixing some technical issues will make this doable.

against