Friday, January 13, 2017

Call for Judgment: GIVE ME BACK MY WATER

Reached quorum 4 votes to 0. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 14 Jan 2017 09:42:47 UTC

This is the first time I do a Call for Judgement so please have mercy. If I have made any mistakes, please let me know.

I had a ludicrous amount of Well Water (which I have obtained legally) and Kevan has removed them from me. I wish to have them back, because Kevan’s undoing is illegal, because the way I’ve obtained the water has been legal. I’ll explain why:

“Remedies” says:

Each Villager may carry up to three Remedies, listed in the GNDT, and may carry more than one of the same Remedy. Carrying more than one of the same remedy counts as multiple remedies, e.g., Carrying Well water, Well water, Well water, Silver bark counts as carrying four remedies. A Villager may give a Remedy they are carrying to another Villager who is Near to them, at any time.

“Appendix”, “Keywords” says:

May
“is permitted to”


“Gamestate Tracking” says:

Any Villager may post to the blog at any time

So. I am ALLOWED to make myself be able to carry up to three Remedies, but I simply choose not to employ that right (“right” in the sense that “I’m allowed to”). I dont have to declare anywhere that Im employing it or not either. It also says that I may carry more than one of the same Remedy, and I choose to employ that right.

In “Locations”, “Town Square”, it says that:

As a daily action, a Villager in the Town Square may add multiple units of Well Water to their inventory.

A really large number (A hundred? Thousands? I dunno, I put as many as I could into the GNDT) is “multiple units”. Combined with that I choose my right to “carry more than one of the same Remedy”, while simply not choosing to employ the “right” that I “may carry up to three Remedies”, I can carry all of those Waters.

That or everyone has been making an illegal move since at least the beginning of the dynasty because you all of you “may post to the blog at any time” and I don’t see any blog post spamming around.

GIVE ME BACK MY WATER

I didn’t want to reveal this loophole so soon but I guess I have to in order to try to win now, because I need ALL THAT WELL WATER GODDAMNIT, GIVE IT BACK.

Comments

Kevan:

01-13-2017 14:40:27 UTC

If you’re choosing to ignore the optional ability to “carry up to three Remedies”, that leaves you without the ability to carry any Remedies (just as if the rule didn’t exist), not to carry an indefinite number of them. So you’re still allowed to take the action of adding a hundred buckets of Well Water to your inventory, but as you’re simultaneously not allowed to be carrying any Remedies, the action is illegal.

against

(Death and Dormancy are fine, because the phrase “may not” is explicitly defined in the glossary as “is not permitted to” - rather than “is permitted to not”.)

Cuddlebeam:

01-13-2017 14:55:04 UTC

Thank you for your comment Kevan. However ignoring “carry up to three Remedies” DOESNT leave me without the ability to carry remedies IF I choose to have “and may carry more than one of the same Remedy”, because it says that I’m allowed to carry more than one remedy.

Its as if it declared that I have “have infinite inventory slots for remedies of the same kind”, while the other says “I have three inventory slots total”. Both employ the verb “carry” in the same way.

Therefore, I believe your reasoning is flawed.

Cuddlebeam:

01-13-2017 14:56:44 UTC

Also I removed that “I didn’t want to reveal this loophole so soon but I guess I have to in order to try to win now, because I need ALL THAT WELL WATER GODDAMNIT, GIVE IT BACK.” comment because I also realized my flaw but right after I posted it (which I believe I can do? Unless Im missing something), I guess you put it back.

Cuddlebeam:

01-13-2017 14:58:42 UTC

Ah nvm, it was a different comment FUCK LOL

Kevan:

01-13-2017 15:05:31 UTC

Ah, alright then.

for

Cuddlebeam:

01-13-2017 15:06:08 UTC

I’m absolutely horrible with this kind of posting, and I apologize with the repeated comments. I’d just like to add that my argument could be simplified as:

“may carry more than one of the same Remedy” = If I have more than one of the same Remedy, I may carry them. Since I choose to obtain a gazilion, which is more than one of the same, I may carry them.

quirck:

01-13-2017 21:30:22 UTC

for

pokes:

01-13-2017 23:07:56 UTC

for Sure, I want to see what you use a bunch of water for. But as long as we’re doing a word-by-word dissection, it looks to me like you don’t need to track that water in the GNDT.