Tuesday, July 29, 2008

items up for discussion

Tell me what you all think:

Name – Healer’s Ring
Item Type – Accessory (Ring)
For Sale - Yes
Cost - 50
Temporary Effect - Heals Bearer for a number of HP equal to his Magic skill.
Number of Uses - 8
Lasting Effect - none
Requirements – The Bearer must be wearing at most one other Ring
Equipped Effect – The Bearer cannot become Dead by the means described in the Rule called “Health”.  If the Bearer’s HP would become 1 or less, the Bearer automatically uses it repeatedly until it either runs out of Uses or his HP is at least 2.

Name – Ring of Stealth
Item Type - Accessory (Ring)
For Sale - No
Cost - 50
Temporary Effect - none
Number of Uses - Infinite
Lasting Effect - none
Requirements – The Bearer must be wearing at most one other Ring.  The Bearer must have a SPD of at least 2.
Equipped Effect – The Bearer’s Thievery skill is increased by 1 for the purposes of all Rules except for the Rules entitled “Skills” and “Experience” and their subrules.  The Bearer’s SPD is decreased by 1 for the purposes of all Rules except for the Rule entitled “Attributes” and its subrules.

(4 other Stealth-like Rings).

Name – Amulet of Disguise
Item Type - Accessory
For Sale - No
Cost - 50
Temporary Effect - none
Number of Uses - Infinite
Lasting Effect - none
Requirements – The Bearer cannot be wearing another Accessory with “Amulet” in its name.  The Bearer must have a SOC of at least 5 (or else it won’t be believable).
Equipped Effect – The Bearer’s Race is “Human” for the purposes of all Rules except for the Rule entitled “Character Sheets” and its subrules.

 

Comments

Yoda:

07-29-2008 01:15:51 UTC

I like these.  If you’re worried about possibly losing gold, I can propose these if you would like.  Remember, I can’t lose gold. ;P

Bucky:

07-29-2008 02:05:44 UTC

It’s not the risk of losing gold that’s bothering me.  I want to know any potential flaws now, when I can still easily edit the list.

Yoda:

07-29-2008 02:38:51 UTC

The only thing I might be concerned about it the phrase “The Bearer must be wearing at most one other Ring”.

Yoda:

07-29-2008 03:28:01 UTC

The only problem I can see is that ring is not defined anywhere in the ruleset.  Also, the “(Ring)” tag might be interpreted to mean that it is not an Accessory and therefore cannot be equipped to an Accessory slot.

Yoda:

07-29-2008 03:29:03 UTC

So, basically, if you take out “(Ring)” and “The Bearer must be wearing at most one other Ring”, it should be fine.

Bucky:

07-29-2008 03:41:03 UTC

I just added the Amulet of Disguise.

Yoda:

07-29-2008 04:20:39 UTC

I’m not sold on that one.