Wednesday, November 24, 2021

Call for Judgment: No Backsies

Illegal (changed after 4-hour edit window, as author has said). Failed by TyGuy6.

Adminned at 24 Nov 2021 18:50:50 UTC

Yesterday at 10:10 UTC I erroneously carried out a fighting action with an illegal step. In the first roll I rolled a Miss; in the second I rolled a Taunt; in the third I rerolled both, mistakenly believing that the Taunt allowed me to reroll the held-over Miss, while in fact there’s no provision in the rule for re-rolling previously held over dice.

The person I targeted with that move has already taken their move, and the person they targeted has now also taken their move, so reverting is at this stage not ideal.

Therefore, please uphold the Fighting action taken by the Realtor called Josh on 23/11/2021 as having been legally completed, and then reduce their Contribution by 1.

Comments

Kevan: he/him

24-11-2021 10:03:00 UTC

So instead of “roll five dice” your third roll should have legally been “keep 1 miss, roll four dice”?

If we regard the fifth die in that roll as an invalid extra, the outcome would have been “Miss-Taunt-Punch-Leap-Leap” rather than the “Taunt-Punch-Leap-Leap-Leap” you played. That would have scored zero rather than +3, and you wouldn’t have been able to Goad yourself to take another turn and score another +1.

I think any CfJ to resolve this should also be deducting 4 from your Contribution.

Josh: he/him

24-11-2021 13:56:57 UTC

Deducting the full 4 is clearly not an outcome that makes any sense; at that stage I might as well just revert and get my turn back, the extra labour be damned.

Regarding the fifth result as the odd one out is also arbitrary. I’ll accept the loss of the Taunt and the subsequent 1 Contribution as a fair sanction; that’s been edited in.

Kevan: he/him

24-11-2021 14:16:12 UTC

If you’re asked to roll four dice and mistakenly roll five, and the die roller spits out the results one at a time, ignoring the fifth one seems natural enough.

I’d accept other readings on that - randomly determining which four of the five dice were the legal ones, or having you roll four fresh dice as a legal “Rolling X Fight Dice in the Die Roller” action - but it doesn’t seem fair to let a player keep four points that they could not have acquired.

against

Kevan: he/him

24-11-2021 14:20:49 UTC

Three points, even. But your edit came after the four hour mark, there, didn’t it?

Brendan: Heel he/him

24-11-2021 14:28:17 UTC

for It would be pretty hypocritical of me to vote against this, given my own request to keep my points in a very similar CfJ.

Clucky: he/him

24-11-2021 14:30:55 UTC

I think I’m with Kevan here. I don’t think there is anything to revert — yeah you mistakenly kept a die you didn’t want to but we know exactly what your final roll should’ve been don’t we?

Josh: he/him

24-11-2021 14:40:12 UTC

Kevan is right that this was edited outside of the 4h mark. It’s therefore unpopular under all circumstances.

Team Brendan’s punctilious scrupulousness does seem very convenient, however, given - as Brendan says - the passage of CfJ:// Banana Heel. Almost unsportingly so, one might say! (Note who the first FOR vote was on that CfJ, and how long they spent worrying about what was technically correct.)

pokes:

24-11-2021 14:51:05 UTC

for

lemon: she/her

24-11-2021 18:15:13 UTC

well this CfJ is broken, & the other seems unsporting, so i’m going to wait until a better CfJ is posted about the matter. (i’d make one myself, but i don’t have the time today)