Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Proposal: Orcantile

Passes 3-0. — Quirck

Adminned at 23 Apr 2016 09:49:59 UTC

Repeal the rules “Trade” and “Salvage” and add a rule called “Trade, Salvage and Sacrifice” as follows:

At any time, an Orc may spend X Resources to give another Orc X-1 Resources.

An Orc may take any of the following actions by removing an Item from their Inventory. These actions may not be taken on Equipped weapons. An Orc may not simultaneously take more than one of these actions on the same Item. Performing one of these actions does not trigger any other effects that would occur as a result of removing an item from an Orc’s inventory—for example, a Potion of Strength would not raise Strength when salvaged.

  • Salvage - The Orc gains half the Crafting Cost of the removed Item, rounded down. If the Item has no Crafting Cost, it may not be salvaged.
  • Trade - Place the removed Item in another Orc’s Inventory. A single Item may not be traded more than once per day.
  • Sacrifice - The next time the Orc would take the result of a DICEX roll in the GNDT, they may treat that result as if it were up to 4 higher than it is, but not more than X. If an Orc has not made a DICE roll since the last time they sacrificed an Item, they may not sacrifice another Item.

Refactoring after realizing there’s a bug in Trade that Salvage handles nicely.



21-04-2016 02:17:51 UTC

note: we already have “Items”, you may want to change the name


21-04-2016 07:58:50 UTC

note: I had thought the exception I added was enough, but to be fair it is a bit of a patch job. As good as the Salvage portion of this rule is there are a couple issues. The new rule would make it impossible to give another player resources, as that is part of the current Trade rule. This change also makes trading of equipped weapons possible, which seems a bit problematic.

Brendan: he/him

21-04-2016 14:45:15 UTC

Note: thanks for pointing those out—proposal updated to fix the rule name and restore resource donation. “These actions may not be taken on Equipped weapons” is already included for all three actions.

Clucky: he/him

21-04-2016 23:16:43 UTC



22-04-2016 03:06:39 UTC