Thursday, July 12, 2018

Proposal: Simultaneous Actions [Appendix] [Core]

reached quorum 5-1 enacted by card

Adminned at 14 Jul 2018 02:58:09 UTC

Remove “A Wizard may not take more than one Atomic Action at the same time.” and “In addition, the Wizard performing an Atomic Action performs its steps as quickly as they are able.” from “Atomic Actions”.

To the “Time” subsection of “Clarifications”, add a new bullet point:-

A Wizard may not take more than one dynastic game action at the same time (excluding any actions which have been ongoing for more than three hours).

To the “Fair Play” rule, add a bullet point:-

A Wizard should not deliberately and unreasonably prolong the performance of a game action once they have started it.

For any game actions which were taken simultaneously by the same Wizard during this dynasty, any of those actions which were not Scoring actions are considered not to have occurred, and the gamestate shall be updated to reflect this.

This stronger wording of the same rule came up back in February but we didn’t put it up for vote. (“More than one action” is probably taking it too far, as it risks shutting off core voting and admin actions.) Adding a three-hour sanity clause in case a scam or an accident prevents a player from being able to complete an action.

Deliberately prolonging a game action (which is already in place for atomics) also seems sufficiently meta to become a generic Fair Play rule.

There’s a Rider to limit 9spaceking’s past actions (and those of anyone who wants to try it before this proposal enacts) to just Scoring, per comments on the previous post. 9spaceking is welcome to make a “lose all Thaum and apply effects A, B, C and D to the gamestate” follow-up proposal if they’d rather resolve it differently.

Comments

Brendan: he/him

13-07-2018 00:25:49 UTC

for

card:

13-07-2018 01:38:24 UTC

for

9spaceking:

13-07-2018 03:15:32 UTC

for \

Corona:

13-07-2018 05:57:21 UTC

for But while I’m playing a card that requires me to discard, discarding a card while still in the process of playing the other card would be taking two actions at the same time, no?

Kevan: City he/him

13-07-2018 08:03:37 UTC

Good point. Discarding feels like something else (because you never voluntarily discard cards), although I’m not sure how I’d define that. And that objection would dissolve had the “may discard at any time” proposal enacted.

Maybe it’d be a good idea to say that if an action is triggered as an explicit step of another action, it’s all considered part of the same action.

(It looks like Pick Pocket and the Faction clothes are all already impossible because they tell you to Play a new card while you’re halfway through Playing the original card, which is “more than one Atomic Action at the same time”.)

Lulu: she/her

13-07-2018 13:20:39 UTC

against