Monday, June 25, 2018

Proposal: The Point

Became popular 7 to 0. Enacted by Derrick.

The clause removing “or scored” referred to a text string that did not exist in the rule set, and had no effect.

Adminned at 26 Jun 2018 17:46:08 UTC

Add a new rule called “Thaum” as follows:

Each Wizard has an amount of Thaum, which is a nonnegative integer, tracked in the GNDT.

Delete the words “or scored” from the clause “a constraint outlining the circumstances under which it may be played or scored” in the rule “Cards.”

Append to the paragraph beginning “When a Wizard plays a card in their hand” in the rule “Cards” the following:

When a Wizard scores a card in their hand, they remove that card from their hand and simultaneously add its score to their Thaum.



25-06-2018 18:51:58 UTC

hmmmm…..  imperial

Kevan: City he/him

25-06-2018 18:59:50 UTC


derrick: he/him

25-06-2018 19:17:57 UTC

What is Thaum going to do? What does it represent?


25-06-2018 20:53:34 UTC

for It’s like discarding cards as a resource, but more flexible, I guess.

Brendan: he/him

25-06-2018 21:23:49 UTC

[derrick] No plan for it yet. Could be a resource that you burn with other cards, could be a currency to trade things, could be a tiebreaker or complementary factor on the victory condition number.

Lulu: she/her

26-06-2018 00:01:09 UTC



26-06-2018 02:43:36 UTC

for maybe it should represent magical accomplishment, it does happen when you successfully “cast” spells after all

Kevan: City he/him

26-06-2018 09:16:12 UTC

[card] Not quite, it happens when you throw a card in your hand away instead of casting it. (Which maybe represents research - testing out a particular spell in the closed environment of your laboratory, instead of unleashing it on the world, to observe and learn from its effects.)

derrick: he/him

26-06-2018 12:54:14 UTC


Please note I reserve the right to Veto an attempt to tie Thaum to a victory condition. This could easily turn into grinding.


26-06-2018 14:55:30 UTC

[Kevan] ” it happens when you throw a card in your hand away instead of casting it.”
are you sure about that? I’m looking through the ruleset and can’t find any reference to how a card is scored and none of the current proposals clarify how that happens. I thought a card was scored when it was played but that doesn’t seem to be the case either.

Kevan: City he/him

26-06-2018 15:15:35 UTC

Well, the ruleset currently talks of “circumstances under which [a card] may be played, attached or scored”, which suggests that playing and scoring are distinct actions. And this proposal is building on that: when you play a card, you discard it and X happens; when you score a card, you discard it and Y happens.

Start Your Henges makes this more explicitly by proposing that Wizards can choose to score cards from their hand at any time.