Monday, March 02, 2020

Proposal: This Cannot Stand [Alpha][Prime]

Times out Unpopular, 1-1-3. Failed by Brendan.

Adminned at 04 Mar 2020 18:04:05 UTC

Create a new rule in the Alpha ruleset called “Exterminate!” which reads:

If both of a Scientist’s Selves are located in the Alpha universe, that Scientist may perform an Elimination, which is a Discrepant Action that may be performed as follows:

If both Selves are Alpha-Oriented, the Prime Self is deleted and no longer exists.
If both Selves are Prime-Oriented, the Alpha Self is deleted and no longer exists.
If neither of the above are true and the sum of both Selves’ Polarities is non-zero, shift their Polarities Alphaward by 2 if the sum is positive and Primeward by 1 if the sum is negative.
If the sum of both Selves’ Polarities is zero, both Selves are deleted and no longer exist.

Create a sub-rule of “Exterminate! [Alpha]” called “One True Self” which reads:

If a Scientist’s Prime Self no longer exists in both Universes, and that Scientist’s Alpha Self is located in the Alpha Universe, that Scientist may declare victory.


Create a new rule in the Prime ruleset called “A Soul Divided” which reads:

If both of a Scientist’s Selves are located in the Prime universe, that Scientist may perform an Elimination, which is a Discrepant Action that may be performed as follows:

If both Selves are Prime-Oriented, the Alpha Self is deleted and no longer exists.
If both Selves are Alpha-Oriented, the Prime Self is deleted and no longer exists.
If neither of the above are true and the sum of both Selves’ Polarities is non-zero, shift their Polarities Alphaward by 2 if the sum is positive and Primeward by 1 if the sum is negative.
If the sum of both Selves’ Polarities is zero, both Selves are deleted and no longer exist.

Create a sub-rule of “A Soul Divided [Prime]” called “Concordia” which reads:

If a Scientist’s Alpha Self no longer exists in both Universes, and that Scientist’s Prime Self is located in the Prime Universe, that Scientist may declare victory.

 

Hopefully we can jumpstart the Dynasty if we have a victory condition. Edit: forgot to add tags

Comments

Josh: he/him

02-03-2020 16:12:49 UTC

Hm, interesting. Can a Scientist achieve Victory in one Universe and have that count for the whole game?

naught:

02-03-2020 16:18:47 UTC

I’m not sure. I would assume so, but a case can be made for that to not be the case.

naught:

02-03-2020 16:27:50 UTC

From “Scientists [Para]”
“Each Scientist controls two versions of themselves, also known as Selves: one Self originates in the Alpha Universe and one Self originates in the Prime Universe. Each Self is located in their Universe of origin at the time of Divergence, and may be referred to by the addition of “Alpha” or “Prime” respectively after their name; the undifferentiated name refers to the Scientist controlling them.”

Because it is the Scientist controlling the Self, and not the Self itself, declaring victory, I think it would count for the whole game.

Brendan: he/him

02-03-2020 21:19:57 UTC

imperial

Farsight:

03-03-2020 13:17:42 UTC

imperial

Jumble:

03-03-2020 16:32:54 UTC

for

Brendan: he/him

03-03-2020 17:11:40 UTC

against CoV. “Prime Self no longer exists in both Universes” applies to every active player. No Self exists in both Universes—the word would have to be “any” or “either.”

Jumble:

03-03-2020 18:37:22 UTC

against scam detected

Darknight: he/him

03-03-2020 20:26:34 UTC

against