Monday, January 07, 2008

(title of post changed again since poker seems to be moving along now)

Amnistar, Kevan idled so it’s your action now.

Comments

Kevan: HE/HIM

01-07-2008 14:27:41 UTC

Oh, right. The stickied post still says “Zephyr has the button, so Sixsidepentagon is the first to act” - I assumed that this was the “what needs to happen next” prompt.

Kevan: HE/HIM

01-07-2008 14:30:54 UTC

Okay, I’m seeing “if the Player in question is not the first to act in that Round, then the amount of the Raise must be more than the amount needed to Call” in the Ruleset, but no definition of what the amount needed to Call is. So I don’t know how much I have to raise.

You’ll forgive me if my poker is a little rusty.

Kevan: HE/HIM

01-07-2008 14:31:57 UTC

Oh, wait, “not the first to act”, so I can ignore it, whatever it means.

spikebrennan:

01-07-2008 14:56:45 UTC

Umm—Night raised by 50, so (Kevan), your choices are: bet 50 to call, bet more than 50 (in which case your “raise” is the amount by which your bet exceeds 50, or fold.  You can’t bet less than 50 because of what Night did.

Yes, we proceed in the order that the names happen to be listed in the GNDT.

If anything that I’ve just said is contrary to the ruleset, then we ought to fix the ruleset.

Kevan: HE/HIM

01-07-2008 15:27:41 UTC

Right, sorry, I missed that as well.

I think I might just go idle, this seems like a very slow way to learn a game that I haven’t really played before. Give me a shout if you need a script to verify the authenticity of a 52-card deck from its checksum.

Kevan: HE/HIM

01-07-2008 23:43:03 UTC

(This post was “Umm, Kevan” and directed at me, for four hours before Spike edited it, for anyone who wasn’t around.)

Amnistar:

01-08-2008 00:57:50 UTC

dunno what you’re complaining about…it’s not my turn.  I played my hand tabout 12 hours ago.