Tuesday, August 04, 2015

Declaration of Victory: You never know your luck until you try it

Has been open for 12 hours with an unanimity in favour, including the Emperor. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 04 Aug 2015 20:35:08 UTC

The rule “Classical Conditioning” says that a Rat may carry out a Conditioned Action, which is “any action that they have successfully carried out at least five times prior to the Conditioned Action being carried out”. It also says that a Conditioned Action has no other preconditions.

Therefore, on the grounds that I have successfully achieved victory five times in the past, my Conditioned Action for today is to achieve victory again.

I suspect that this will turn on whether “achieving victory” is considered an action or not. My argument: “to achieve” is an active verb, and in the absence of a formal definition that seems to be the only qualifying factor.


Kevan: HE/HIM

08-04-2015 07:46:53 UTC


Tantusar: HE/THEY

08-04-2015 07:54:31 UTC

Well, blast. Wasn’t expecting that.



08-04-2015 08:44:34 UTC

for Impressive! Did not see that coming.

Tantusar: HE/THEY

08-04-2015 08:47:56 UTC

I never expected it to end in a mid-game scam.

(NOBODY expects it to end in a mid-game scam!)

Josh: HE/HIM

08-04-2015 09:27:23 UTC

I have spent much of the past day worried that Kevan or Purplebeard had spotted this and were preparing to hijack it.

Tantusar: HE/THEY

08-04-2015 09:41:33 UTC

Kevan did the honourable thing and hijacked it to stop anyone else hijacking it.

Kevan: HE/HIM

08-04-2015 09:42:58 UTC

I spotted it but didn’t mind who got there first.

Kevan: HE/HIM

08-04-2015 09:56:40 UTC

Surely either of us (or any unidling veteran) could have made the same DoV after you’d made yours, though? The ruleset seems happy to allow simultaneous DoVs - presumably on the grounds that if your scam allows several players to win, it should have been a better scam.

Josh: HE/HIM

08-04-2015 10:15:09 UTC

Sure. The rules don’t even mandate that DoVs have to be resolved in chronological order, although the first one posted does have a head start, so it’s true that a consortium could conspire to replicate this kind of victory and steal it. In practice it seems like that would be hard to deliberately pull off though.

Darknight: HE/HIM

08-04-2015 16:43:16 UTC