Monday, May 18, 2015

Proposal: Blown Cover

Reached quorum 5 votes to 0. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 19 May 2015 13:18:58 UTC

Amend the “Meddling Knids” rule to include the following action:

  • Blow a Cover (2): Choose one Shifter (who is not a Stranger) who has a Cover that is less than the Reputation of their Form. Announce in the latest New Day Dawning post that that Shifter’s cover has been blown. If yours is the first such announcement for that shifter in the latest New Day Dawns post, change that Shifter’s Form immediately to Stranger. In addition, if the Shifter’s previous Form was that of an Individual Human, reduce to cover of all other Shifters currently in the same Form by 2 points (due to increased scrutiny).

If enacted, this amendment will not take effect until the next New Day.



05-18-2015 05:45:48 UTC

for self-vote so I get notified of follow-up comments.


05-18-2015 08:26:08 UTC

for Opens up a bit of a timing issue (if two players are both vulnerable but have taken a useful role, whoever logs in earliest after Dawn can take their role action and oust the other), but not a major one.

Note that per an obscure bit of appendix (“If the admin enacting a proposal reaches a step which cannot be applied immediately (eg. “two days after this proposal enacts, Shifter A gains 1 point”), that step is ignored for the purposes of enactment. Once a proposal has been enacted, it can have no further direct effect on the gamestate.”) the final clause has no effect. (Otherwise we’d be able to create unfair invisible rules like “on 1 April 2016, Player X wins whatever dynasty is happening”.)


05-18-2015 08:51:24 UTC

for Fix is a paragraph that repeals itself after it’s done its job.


05-18-2015 14:49:48 UTC

“Meddling Knids” was the name of a proposal—the rule itself is just called “Meddling”—which is a little ambiguous, but eh. for


05-18-2015 15:17:34 UTC

Brendan: shoot, you’re right.  Does this mean this proposal has no effect if it passes?


05-18-2015 15:33:10 UTC

If you’d said “the rule called Meddling Knids” then yes, but “the Meddling Knids rule” seems broad enough to cover it.


05-19-2015 12:55:03 UTC