Tuesday, July 08, 2008

Declaration of Victory: It was me!

Resolved after 12 hours, since the DDA Commander voted on it, final vote 8-1—Yoda

Adminned at 09 Jul 2008 05:11:13 UTC

I quote from rule 2.18 Time Out (without italics): “Yoda may achieve victory in the current dynasty.”

Now, you may be saying “What about ‘Yoda wins nothing.’ in the rule Space Girder.  To that, I say that the only mention of winning is in rule 2.14 Duelling and its sub-rules; therefore, winning refers to winning duels.

Comments

Yoda:

07-08-2008 18:57:15 UTC

Now, I must confess: I posted the CfJ.

Yoda:

07-08-2008 18:57:35 UTC

for ...and explicit author for

Rodlen:

07-08-2008 18:58:54 UTC

against

Oze:

07-08-2008 18:59:03 UTC

for Wow, sneaky. I have a feeling there’s a snag in your plan, but I want you to win.

Rodlen:

07-08-2008 19:02:19 UTC

Yoda, anyone may post a DoV to achieve victory at any time.

Your little rule gives nothing new.

Oze:

07-08-2008 19:03:40 UTC

‘Declaring Victory’ is different to ‘Achieving Victory’

Rodlen:

07-08-2008 19:08:04 UTC

Yoda also said he only can achieve victory, not that he has.

Clucky:

07-08-2008 19:52:05 UTC

for oh snap. Nicely done.

Amnistar:

07-08-2008 19:54:45 UTC

I’m with Rodlen.  May implies the ability to.

this translates to:

Yoda is Permitted to acheive victory.

Congrats. You are allowed to win.  Dosn’t mean you do.

Devenger:

07-08-2008 19:58:11 UTC

against I’m with Rodlen on this one, though I don’t mind either way. My attempts at continuing Spacecraft Battles have turned into incomprehensible babble after the first 600 odd little keywords I need to define… so, meh.

At least I saw this one. Yoda, if you win, am I eligible for a reward for NOT stopping you?

Yoda:

07-08-2008 20:02:43 UTC

You’re stopping me right now….

Clucky:

07-08-2008 20:04:46 UTC

There is a difference between “declaring victory” and “achieving victory”. “Declaring victory” is the process that everyone can do. However, when you “declare victory” you must describe how you have “achieved victory” and not everyone is allowed to just “achieve victory” for the heck of it.

The rules, however, state that Yoda *is* allowed to “achieve victory” for the heck of it. He choose to exerise the may caluse—just like how if it says “As a daily action, you may earn five bananas” I’d earn myself five bananas—and thus had “achieve victory”. He then “declared victory”, and because he has also “achieved victory” his declaration is legit.

Yoda:

07-08-2008 20:12:37 UTC

Hey, I finally got Clucky to unidle!

Oh, and thanks.

Amnistar:

07-08-2008 20:24:54 UTC

against

For the reasons I stated above :P

Devenger:

07-08-2008 20:27:52 UTC

for Observing some previous victory claims, this is just about tipped in Yoda’s favour I think. Achieving victory normally has conditions. This bypasses them. So, he’s won if he wants to have.

Yoda:

07-08-2008 21:26:05 UTC

Is there some way to speed up the passing of a DoV besides having the DDA Commander vote on it? (Thanks, Rodlen, by the way.)

Darknight:

07-08-2008 21:40:42 UTC

well snap. seems like i’m the main vote here. i’m either the quorum reacher or the tie maker lol. i’ll vote….. in abit. i’m reading what everyone has said to see how i stand

Darknight:

07-08-2008 21:42:15 UTC

unless of course bucky votes lol

Amnistar:

07-08-2008 21:55:29 UTC

Nope, no way to speed up DoV.  To easy for someone to just pass something.

Amnistar:

07-08-2008 21:58:26 UTC

for

Because it’ll speed things up, get the win and a new dynasty started (unfortunately this one stagnated)

And whatever you decide Yoda, I’d like for there to be Nemesis’ as an option for me to propose as a rule.

Clucky!!! *shakes fist*

Darknight:

07-08-2008 22:02:58 UTC

for btw, the list of active members is misnumbered

Amnistar:

07-08-2008 22:13:39 UTC

You’re an admin.  You fix it.

Bucky:

07-08-2008 22:47:22 UTC

Aww, I was trying to revive everything.  Oh well.

jay:

07-09-2008 00:08:35 UTC

for We have a winner :)

Yoda:

07-09-2008 01:05:47 UTC

Great, now we just have to wait about 6 more hours…

Rodlen:

07-09-2008 01:36:54 UTC

Removing vote.

Clucky:

07-09-2008 01:40:29 UTC

How does just saying “Removing vote” remove your vote Rodlen?

Darknight:

07-09-2008 01:42:11 UTC

theres nothing in the rules that says you can remove your vote.

Yoda:

07-09-2008 01:54:20 UTC

You tried that last time, remember?  You can’t COV to a no-vote.

Bucky:

07-09-2008 02:21:23 UTC

for

Yoda:

07-09-2008 02:24:21 UTC

Rodlen, you are now officially the only player who has voted against this DoV.  If you ask me, you’re just sore that I finally pulled off a legal win…

Yoda:

07-09-2008 02:31:43 UTC

If this DoV passes (and I think it’s safe to say by now that it will), I will lead the fifth first dynasty in a row.  We should call this string of first dynasties “The Era of Firsts”.

Spikebrennan, Jack, Purplebeard, Rodlen, Yoda.

Yoda:

07-09-2008 02:34:15 UTC

I just realized that if we have two more first dynasties after mine, we will have surpassed the record for the most first dynasties in a row (the first 6 dynasties were all firsts).

Bucky:

07-09-2008 02:40:16 UTC

Incorrect.  Geran and Myke were different pseudonyms for the same player.

Yoda:

07-09-2008 02:43:28 UTC

Oh, right.  I forgot about that…

Then the most firsts in a row was 5 (23-27), so 1 more and we will pass it.

Darknight:

07-09-2008 02:43:51 UTC

lol. nomic history 101

Yoda:

07-09-2008 04:07:34 UTC

I’ll be back in about 9-10 hours, so don’t think I’ve abandoned you guys.

Devenger:

07-09-2008 09:52:01 UTC

I’m starting to realise the stagnation of this dynasty is, largely, my fault. I’m really, really sorry Rodlen. I may idle depending on what the next dynasty’s theme is… I need to rethink some stuff.