Proposal: Doctor Prepper
Self-killed. Failed by Kevan.
Adminned at 30 Jan 2018 12:58:07 UTC
Replace “When an item listed as Consumable would be put into a hand slot, it is instead not put into that slot, and the Resident whose slot it is may apply its effect at that time (with themselves as its User).” with:-
As a Craction, a Resident may remove a Consumable item from one of their own hand slots to apply that item’s effect (with themselves as its User). Such a Craction is known as a Consumption Craction.
In “Crates”, replace the “Choose whether or not to take one Craction that they are able to take.” bullet point with:-
- Optionally taking a Consumption Craction of the item taken during this atomic action, if that item is Consumable.
- Taking any Craction that the player taking this atomic action is able to take.
Remove “A Craction is an action that is taken as the last step of taking an item from a Crate.” from the ruleset.
Reproposing Samzeman’s stockpiling mechanic, minus the loophole of destroying other people’s items. Also letting residents use Consumables straight away without the need to spend a Craction, to keep some of the current gameplay without having to allow extra Cractions or block regular ones.
Comments
PineTreeQ:
card:
Didn’t we have a problem last time when I proposed the cractions with an optional step in an atomic action list?
“When a Resident performs an Atomic Action, they must complete all its steps”
Cuddlebeam:
No, because last time the “Optionally” wasn’t part of the step itself iirc.
But anyways, a fix juuuust in case could be to make it read instead “Taking a Consumption Craction of the item taken during this atomic action, if that item is Consumable, or skipping this step”
Diabecko:
“Taking any Craction that the player taking this atomic action is able to take.” -> this means you could take several cractions no ? Is this intended ?
card:
I saw that but noted on my second read through that it was Craction (singular) instead of Cractions (plural) but I’d like to see it more explicitly done to avoid confusion.

Cuddlebeam:
Kevan: Oracle he/him
[card] I think the proposal you’re thinking of was tricky in that it added a step that simply said “Take a Craction” - which meant that if a player couldn’t take a Craction (because they had no items which allowed Cractions to happen) they couldn’t take the atomic action either.
So really “Taking any Craction that the player taking this atomic action is able to take.” is the problem here. It’s unclear whether players who can’t take Cractions can actually obey this, and a problem that players who can take Cractions will have to.