Monday, July 19, 2021

Proposal: Pandora’s Loot Chest

Reached quorum 6 votes to 0. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 20 Jul 2021 17:03:08 UTC

Add the following to the rule Treasures, immediately before “The list of available Treasures are as follows”:

Whenever an item effect says that Richardo “immediately uses” that Item, he is considered to use it the next time a Room is Pacified.

Add the following to the list of average treasures in the rule Treasures:

Amnesiac Watch: Richardo immediately uses this to become Amnesiac; while Amnesiac, Richardo disregards the requirement to remove Familiar rooms from the list of rooms selected from in the Move step of the Enter the Crypt action.
Silver Needle: While holding this item, Richardo is Lightly Wounded every time a room is Pacified. While holding this item, if Richardo would take Light Wounds as as result of a Denizen Encounter, he does not.

Add the following to the list of fine treasures in the rule Treasures:

Dutch Courage: Richardo immediately uses this to become Drunk; while Drunk, Richardo disregards the requirement to remove Daunting rooms from the list of rooms selected from in the Move step of the Enter the Crypt action, and any Grievous Would inflicted upon Richardo are instead Light Injuries.
Gold Needle: While holding this item, if Richardo would take Light Wounds as as result of a Denizen Encounter, he does not.

Add the following to the list in the rule Denizen Characteristics:

Concussive: If Richardo takes a Light Wound as a result of an encounter with this Denizen, he loses any statuses (such as Agile, Perceptive, Drunk, Amnesiac, but not Enriched) that he might have, (+2)

Comments

ais523:

19-07-2021 12:53:56 UTC

Concussive makes an actual infinite loop possible. It seems unlikely that anyone will be able to set one up at this point, but it’s probably best if they don’t exist because our current escape mechanism for infinite loops gives Josh discretion over how many iterations they run (a decision which could in theory, end up deciding the dynasty).

Josh: he/him

19-07-2021 13:09:20 UTC

Thanks- have omitted enriched

Brendan: he/him

19-07-2021 14:28:22 UTC

for

Clucky: he/him

19-07-2021 15:22:54 UTC

Think there are still some problems, but we can hopefully fix this in future proposals

1) Does “Whenever an item effect says that Richardo “immediately uses” that Item, he is considered to use it the next time a Room is Pacified.” work even if Richardo isn’t holding the item the next time a Room is Pacified?

2) The movement items (secret passage map, compass) I still feel are a bit poorly defined

ais523:

19-07-2021 15:41:09 UTC

“Richardo’s Journey” specifies how to resolve secret passage maps and compasses (compasses override the normal randomization mechanism but can’t produce otherwise impossible results, and secret passage maps cause all rooms to be considered adjacent on the next move).

Your point 1) does seem to be a real ambiguity, though.

Clucky: he/him

19-07-2021 15:47:12 UTC

I think there is still confusion there. “if Richardo has just used a Secret Passage Map” I feel is a bit unclear as to what “just used” means. I’d interpret it as “In the step right before this one” but maybe people disagree?

Compasses are even more confusing. We specify what happens if an *Effect* forces Richardo to move to a room that would be removed, but I don’t think a Compass is an effect. So when does the “valid option” part of “if moving north is a valid option” kick in?

Jumble: Chancellor of Tribuna he/him

19-07-2021 16:02:17 UTC

for

Kevan: he/him

19-07-2021 16:18:51 UTC

imperial

ais523:

19-07-2021 17:01:24 UTC

@Clucky: Compasses only affect the “Secretly randomly select a room from the created list (unless a Treasure or Effect specifies some other way to select from the list, in which case follow its directions instead).” step of the journey; it uses the Compass to decide which direction to select. If the direction indicated by the Compass isn’t on the list, the compass doesn’t get used.

The Compass effect says “when selecting” – it’s specifically designed to interact with that step of the Journey.

Clucky: he/him

19-07-2021 17:24:08 UTC

The compass still doesn’t define what “valid option” means.

The best interpretation I would think is “Its an option in the list” but some might argue “There isn’t a wall in that direction” while others might argue “There is a room in that direction”

Clucky: he/him

19-07-2021 17:28:13 UTC

there is also the fun problem of “Richardo goes into a room from the north with a westbound compass and a “richardo’s next move must be to his previous location”“

Does the “go back” effect make heading west not a valid option? Or does Richardo get torn in half as he tried to go two places at once?

Clucky: he/him

19-07-2021 18:46:05 UTC

for

lemonfanta: Ashen Queen she/her

20-07-2021 05:57:48 UTC

for