Thursday, November 28, 2019

Proposal: Atomic disruption [Special Case]

Reached quorum 4 votes to 0. Enacted by Kevan.

Adminned at 29 Nov 2019 21:08:45 UTC

In the rule 3.2 (on Atomic Actions), in the fourth paragraph, amend “and are never considered to have performed that action” to “and are considered never to have performed that action”.

In the sixth paragraph, insert a comma after “legality of game actions”.

Amend the fifth paragraph as follows:

For instance, if an Atomic Action consists of rolling a dice and then doing steps based upon its result, the Adventurer would have to reroll the dice only if they rolled the wrong one in the first place, and would then have to repeat any steps that depended upon the result of that dice; however, if all they did was take an illegal step later on, the result of the original dice roll would still be used in the redone step.

Move the fifth paragraph to the end of the third paragraph and join them into a single paragraph.

I remember finding the fifth paragraph somewhat confusing when I first encountered it, not least because it’s not adjacent to the clause it is meant to illustrate. I think I now understand it sufficiently to recommend improvements. As far as I can tell, I’ve made no substantial changes in this proposal.

Comments

Cuddlebeam:

11-29-2019 12:28:04 UTC

I’m not a big fan of the “if all they did was take an illegal step later on” wording personally, because it sounds like if it was the sole thing they did. against

The Duke of Waltham:

11-29-2019 16:20:03 UTC

This is actually the current wording: “however if all they did was take an illegal action later on, the die is still used in the redone action”. My aim was to clarify; I understand what you are saying, and I agree that the wording could be improved further, but I shouldn’t think it a reason to vote against this proposal.

Cuddlebeam:

11-29-2019 16:23:06 UTC

Ah, true, sorry about that.  for

Kevan:

11-29-2019 17:40:13 UTC

for

card:

11-29-2019 18:47:04 UTC

for