Saturday, August 24, 2019

Declaration of Victory: Captain Shrapnel

Failed 5 votes to 0, by Kevan.

Adminned at 26 Aug 2019 10:40:35 UTC

As per the rule below, I have achieved [a cheesy] victory.

The first Captain to have more than 50 Treasure (while also having more Treasure than every other Captain) achieves victory.

Comments

pokes:

08-25-2019 12:01:51 UTC

For those looking here instead of the right place, I didn’t understand what was going on until reading the comments on the ninth watch.

pokes:

08-25-2019 12:46:22 UTC

against per my spew of scattered reasoning in the ninth watch comments.

Cuddlebeam:

08-25-2019 16:25:45 UTC

I have no idea what is going on but I’m excited for this.

Also, sorry, especially to my sidemates, for having to go Idle. Life’s in the way right now.

Thunder:

08-25-2019 17:00:05 UTC

against for the same reason as pokes. It feels wrong that a blank Dynastic ruleset would allow anyone to declare victory immediately. Rule 1.1 also seems to apply, as pokes said.

Thunder:

08-25-2019 17:01:07 UTC

against for the same reason as pokes. It feels wrong that a blank Dynastic ruleset would allow anyone to declare victory immediately. Rule 1.1 also seems to apply, as pokes said.

Thunder:

08-25-2019 17:01:50 UTC

(Sorry for the repeat, I just refreshed since my internet went out for a minute).

Farsight:

08-25-2019 17:37:01 UTC

for

TyGuy6:

08-25-2019 17:40:38 UTC

Some salient points. It seem to me that there are two key questions:

Is an Order in a private message considered gamestate, and therefore not valid in multiples? Yes, because Orders and sending them is “regulated” by the ruleset. (see definition of Gamestate.) I had not considered this before.

Does Farsight carrying out the Orders affect the gamestate? No, he has no ability to carry out invalid Orders. Not sure what happens for the valid ones, but I suppose I don’t win this round. against

Farsight:

08-25-2019 18:02:28 UTC

Cov, I’m convinced.  against

Farsight:

08-25-2019 18:03:33 UTC

So what happens now, do we go back to the chart as it was at the beginning of the eighth watch?

ubq323:

08-25-2019 18:29:14 UTC

against

Thunder:

08-25-2019 18:45:33 UTC

[Farsight] Couldn’t you just hotfix to his first order for the time being? I’ll write up a CfJ later.

Farsight:

08-25-2019 19:56:13 UTC

[Thunder] Yeh ok I’ll do that.

Farsight:

08-25-2019 20:01:20 UTC

TyGuy6, good effort!

Farsight:

08-25-2019 20:17:08 UTC

Chart and GNDT have been hotfixed to what they would have been if TyGuy6 hadn’t conducted his scam. If I’ve made any mistakes please let me know :)

TyGuy6:

08-25-2019 21:41:35 UTC

A hotfix isn’t technically legal until Hiatus ends, (which is as soon as this DoV gets failed,) but as it’s just informational, I suppose it makes no difference.

More importantly, Orders being sent is a dynastic action, and the 48-hour timer hasn’t stopped for the Watch. If you sent your Orders after this DoV was posted, consider resending them once we’re rolling.